Team Information

The Team’s responsibilities include considering and recommending community responses to reports of bias incidents, as well as serving an educational role in helping to cultivate community values of inclusion, civility, and mutual respect. The Team meets monthly to review incidents, strategize on education and prevention, and discuss campus climate. 

What are the primary functions of the Team?

The primary functions of the Team are to:

  1. Engage community members in education, dialogue, and awareness so as to foster a learning, working, and living community free from hate, discrimination, harassment, and intolerance;
  2. Receive timely and sensitive information on a need to know basis;
  3. Assess the circumstances of the incident as thoroughly and quickly as possible;
  4. Make referrals to appropriate campus officials so that action can be taken- the Team does not conduct investigations into criminal allegations or alleged policy violations; and
  5. Assist in implementation of a coordinated and appropriate community response (engaging partners as needed) and communicate with the community as appropriate.

Team Members

Name

Title

Phone

Email

Erin Jarrett

(Co-Chair)

Director, Equal Opportunity & Deputy Title IX Coordinator

(508) 626-4052

ejerrett@howtobecomeagenius.net

Jerome Burke

(Co-Chair)

Director, Center for Inclusive Excellence

(508) 215-5888

jburke13@howtobecomeagenius.net

Lori Bihler

Associate Professor, History

(508) 626-4835

lbihler@howtobecomeagenius.net

Jeffrey Coleman

Vice President for Diversity, Inclusion, and Community Engagement

(508) 626-4512

jcoleman10@howtobecomeagenius.net

Glenn Cochran

Associate Dean of Students and Director of Residence Life

(508) 626-4631

gcochran@howtobecomeagenius.net

Benjamin Day

Director, Counseling Center

(508) 626-4640

bday@howtobecomeagenius.net

Kim Dexter

Assistant Vice President of Human Resources & Equal Opportunity

(508) 215-5859

kdexter@howtobecomeagenius.net

Andrew Frimpong

Community Resource Officer

(508) 626-4911

afrimpong@howtobecomeagenius.net

Jonathan Golden

Scholarly Resources Acquisitions and Management Librarian

(508) 626-4666

jgolden2@howtobecomeagenius.net

Jay Hurtubise

Assistant Dean of Students for Community Standards, Outreach and Support

(508) 626-4604

jhurtubise@howtobecomeagenius.net

Kelly Matthews

Associate Professor, English

(508) 626-4815

kmatthews@howtobecomeagenius.net

Megan Mayer

Assistant Professor, Nutrition and Health Studies

(508) 626-4702

mmayer1@howtobecomeagenius.net

Mohammad Salmassi

Professor, Mathematics

(508) 626-4751

msalmassi@howtobecomeagenius.net

Harpreet Singh

FSU Police Department, Command Staff

(508) 626-4911

hsingh@howtobecomeagenius.net